Every fire controller combines three parts: a fan, a controller that decides how much air to give, and a sensor that reads the cooker's temperature. Here is how each one is put together. We compare Blow Forge: the fan plus the V Forge WiFi Hub and Wired Ambient Probe it runs on. Every cell is sourced and dated under the table, and where a maker does not publish something, we say so. Prefer it explained? Six questions to ask any fire controller →

What's in the box, whether a meat thermometer comes with it, where the pit is read, how you choose a fan, and how the fan reaches its controller.
| What matters | NewMeatStick Blow ForgeBlow + V Forge SetChecked 2026-10-09 |
ChefsTemp Breezo V2Fan, controller sold separatelyChecked 2026-10-19 |
ThermoWorks BillowsFan, controller sold separatelyChecked 2026-10-19 |
BBQ Guru Pit ViperFan, controller sold separatelyChecked 2026-10-19 |
Flame Boss 400-WiFiChecked 2026-10-19 |
Combustion EngineFan, gauge or thermometer sold separatelyChecked 2026-10-19 |
FireBoard 2 DriveController, fan sold separatelyChecked 2026-10-19 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What is in the box | Blow, the V Forge WiFi Hub, a Wired Ambient Probe, 1, 2 or 4 Sticks, the hub-link cable and the mounting hardware. Bring a USB charger or power bank. | Fan, fan spring, two kamado mounting plates, USB-C to USB-C cable, 5V 3A power adapter, foil tape. Needs a ChefsTemp ProTemp S1 or ProTemp 2 Plus, not included.1 | Fan kit with damper. Works with a ThermoWorks controller sold separately. Devices the maker lists: Smoke X2, Smoke X4, Signals, ThermaQ 2, RFX Gateway.3 | Fan only. Compatible with the BBQ Guru UltraQ, DynaQ, DigiQ and CyberQ controllers, sold separately.4 | WiFi controller with a 12 CFM blower built in, one meat probe, one pit probe, power supply and grill adapters.5 | Wireless blower and a standard mount. Teams up with a Giant Grill Gauge or Predictive Thermometer, sold separately. Adapter kits sold separately.6 | Controller with screen, USB-C PD charger, ambient probe, two food probes, grill clip and quick start guide. The FireBoard Blower is sold separately.9 |
| Meat thermometer in the box | 1, 2 or 4 V Series Sticks, in the same app as the fire. | Not in the box. The ProTemp S1 or ProTemp 2 Plus is sold separately.1 | Not in the box. Pairs with a ThermoWorks controller sold separately.3 | Not in the box. Pairs with a BBQ Guru controller sold separately.4 | One meat probe.5 | Not in the box. Teams up with a Predictive Thermometer, sold separately.6 | Two food probes.9 |
| Where the pit is read | At the grate. The Wired Ambient Probe plugs into Blow, and Blow reports the pit temperature to the hub. | From the ProTemp S1, which the maker says replaces your cooker's gauge thermometer, or the ProTemp 2 Plus. Neither is in the box.7 | From the paired ThermoWorks controller, sold separately. The fan itself carries no sensor on the page.3 | From the paired BBQ Guru controller, sold separately. The fan page lists no sensor.4 | Its own pit probe comes in the box. The maker's kit photo shows it with a clip.5 | From a Giant Grill Gauge or Predictive Thermometer, received by the fan wirelessly.6 | From the ambient probe in the box, on one of the controller's six probe channels. Where it sits in the cooker: not stated on the maker page.9 |
| Choosing a fan | One variable-speed fan for every supported cooker, no fan size to pick. Kamado: no drilling. Kettle, bullet smoker (WSM) and drum: clips into an existing air opening if your cooker has an accessible one, otherwise one 1¼" hole with a flat surface behind it. | One fan. CFM is not published on the listing or the maker page.17 | One fan. The kit's damper lowers airflow, with 16 adjustment stops.3 | 10 CFM. BBQ Guru also sells a 25 CFM Pit Bull for larger cookers.48 | 12 CFM variable-speed blower, built into the unit. A separate Universal kit covers cookers outside the kamado list.5 | Variable-speed fan, 15 CFM max. Adapter kits are sold separately by cooker.6 | One fan offered on the page, the FireBoard Drive Blower G3, sold separately. CFM: not stated on the maker page. Some installs may need holes drilled in the grill (maker FAQ).9 |
| How the fan reaches its controller | Wired. The hub-link cable runs between Blow and the hub, and the hub runs the control. If the fan loses the hub, it stops. If WiFi or the cloud drops, the cook keeps running. | Wirelessly to the ProTemp S1, or by USB-C cable to the ProTemp 2 Plus. No internal battery, so it needs continuous power.1 | A 6 ft USB-C to USB-C cable is included with the fan.3 | Not stated on the maker page.4 | Controller and blower are one unit.5 | Wireless and rechargeable: up to 24 hours per charge, about 1 hour to recharge by USB PD (maker figures).6 | No separate Drive Fan Cable needed. The maker's render shows a blower port on the controller. Fan control works from the app with an internet connection. What happens if WiFi drops: not stated on the maker page.9 |

Some are a fan that pairs with a controller sold separately (see the column heads). Some build the controller in. Blow Forge ships the fan, the hub and the Wired Ambient Probe together.

Blow Forge's Wired Ambient Probe comes in the box and sits at the grate, beside the food. Whatever controller you use, read the temperature there, where the food cooks, not off the thermometer in the lid.

Blow gets its instructions from the hub over a cable, and the control runs on the hub itself, right at your cooker. If Blow loses the hub, the fan stops.
Blow needs a V Forge WiFi Hub and a Wired Ambient Probe. Blow Forge includes both. Own a V Forge Set? You have them, so just add Blow.
The cook keeps running. The control runs on the hub itself, right at your cooker, not on WiFi or the cloud; WiFi is how you watch and change the target from your phone.
No. Blow is for charcoal cookers with an air intake you can control. On gas, pellet or in the oven, a V Series set still watches the cook.
A USB charger or power bank (5V/2A or higher recommended) on the included USB-C to USB-A cable. A lower-rated source works, but the fan may not reach full speed. Overnight, a wall charger is safest: some power banks switch off when the fan runs gently. The V Forge WiFi Hub runs while charging, so long cooks can stay plugged in.
The V Forge Set plus Blow, for charcoal cookers. Check the fit first, then pick 1, 2 or 4 Sticks.
Blow Forge from $149.99. Preorder: charged at checkout, ships October 30.